• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Exam or Misadventure Appeal? (1 Viewer)

Simply AD

Danski
HSC
I have an Engineering exam on Wednesday along with a funeral to go to of a deceased step-aunt. Question is should I do the exam or appeal for misadventure and go to the funeral?

She passed away Wednesday night and I haven't been able to do any study due to the grace period and some sort of funerary custom her family is hosting and we have to attend as a sign of respect. I have a feeling I'm going to go really bad in the exam regardless if I studied/crammed for the next few days.

Probably might get higher marks if I appeal (just a guess). Need advice on this one.

biopia

WestSyd-UNSW3x/week
HSC
I'd say it's one of those circumstances where it would be best to attend the funeral. It sounds like a really sad time for you and your family :(
It would definitely be a valid reason if you did decide to lodge a misadventure.

In the end though, it's your decision, and only you know what is best.

I hope everything sorts it's self out, and this period isn't too hard for you or your family.

Good luck for the rest of your HSC!

random-1005

Banned
HSC
I have an Engineering exam on Wednesday along with a funeral to go to of a deceased step-aunt. Question is should I do the exam or appeal for misadventure and go to the funeral?

She passed away Wednesday night and I haven't been able to do any study due to the grace period and some sort of funerary custom her family is hosting and we have to attend as a sign of respect. I have a feeling I'm going to go really bad in the exam regardless if I studied/crammed for the next few days.

Probably might get higher marks if I appeal (just a guess). Need advice on this one.